I Don’t Believe in the Death Penalty

Watching the Jodi Arias trial, I’ve decided that I don’t believe in the death penalty. Actually, I always knew this about myself. I’ve never been an “eye for an eye” person and I don’t feel like it’s my decision to choose death for anyone; regardless of what they’ve done. Before anyone says that I just don’t know what it’s like to lose a loved one by murder, you’re wrong. My brother in law was murdered and I don’t wish the death penalty on his murderer. I think that the death penalty is easier; I’d much rather someone sit in prison for the rest of their lives thinking about what they’ve done. Granted, they will have some sort of existence in their life even though it’s in prison. I just can’t say that anyone has the right to die, it’s up to God to decide someone’s final fate.

I know that Catholicism has fairly recently decided to take a stance against the death penalty. I always wondered how a church could be for the death penalty and against abortion. I understand that with abortion it’s an innocent life versus with the death penalty it’s against a convicted person guilty of murder, however, I just don’t think we can play God. On twitter, I’ve seen several tweet how Jodi Arias should be killed and for her to pay for what she did. I agree, she did a horrible thing, nothing will take away his families pain. She is a horrible person and has told many lies and didn’t even say she was sorry when pleading for her life! But I can’t have death on my hands by sending someone to the death penalty. I think this trial has brought out the ugly and worst in people who almost crave to see Jodi tortured. I feel great sorrow. I feel pain for the families, both Travis’s and Jodi’s. Both families have lost someone that they’ll never have in their lives like they did before this murder. In no way am I sticking up for Jodi; she is an awful person.

I don’t know what the right thing to do is, in the event of murder. I don’t know if God wants us to seek revenge or pray for the life that we’ve lost. All I know is that I don’t want to play God and could never send anyone to their death.

Leave a Reply

