Finding enjoyment in our work

Today’s Reading Plan comes from Genesis:

Genesis 1:25

25 God made all sorts of wild animals, livestock, and small animals, each able to produce offspring of the same kind. And God saw that it was good.
In the section which adds more information about this passage indicates that God was happy with his work. God was satisfied with what he has produced here on Earth, so why aren’t we also happy with what we’ve done? Since I no longer work, this has become difficult for me. I don’t have the satisfaction I used to have in helping people as a social worker. I valued what I did and genuinely knew that what I was doing was making a decision in peoples’ lives. Now that I’m home almost all the time, I need to find value and happiness in what may seem like everyday mundane things. I keep a clean home which does bring me joy. I take care of my cats which makes my heart sing. I have started this Bible study which has been a wonderful way for me to evaluate my spiritual beliefs.
We may not see the benefits and joy in our daily work, but if we look, we will find it.
Leave a Reply

